Meta-Heritage Latchhook Rug

Awaking from a fitful slumber this morning (around 5:30 a.m) I remembered an unfinished project which may yet be redeemed. Around two years ago I had begun to make a latch hook rug with some materials received as a present from my Mother – always an enabler of my crafty whims. She and my grandfather had bonded over a similar project when she was young so I took it upon myself to create a new heirloom doormat.

tools of the trade - simplicity itself

tools of the trade – simplicity itself

The rug is a masterpiece in ‘not really thinking things through before you start’ manufacture. I had no design, just  few colours of pre-cut wool and a bit of backing material. As you will be able to see, the result certainly reflects this…

Note the initials cunningly  placed within the design

Note the initials cunningly placed within the design

The knotting technique for this method is pretty easy, but the process is too slow and steady to really float my boat. I would also add that if you are a soft and pathetic individual like myself, you may find that the knotting motion destroys your hands. Having said that, if I had persevered I might have developed some beasting callouses. An informative and enthusiastic tutorial by Utterly Hooked Designs can be found here , complete with sycophantic comment from yours truly.

The rug has become a bit of a talking point in my household and when it reappeared today was met with the usual ‘are you really going to finish it this time?’ line of questioning. Even if it never gets finished, I feel that this tradition makes the rug deserving of meta-heritage status. From one generation to the next.

 

Have you made a latch hook masterpiece?

What are your thoughts?

