Hand Embroidery – the learning curve

Raspberry coloured silk thread on unbleached cotton

Raspberry coloured silk thread on unbleached cotton

silk thread on acrylic felt, including raised stem band and split stitch. Inspired by plasterwork ornamental

silk thread on acrylic felt, including raised stem band and split stitch. Inspired by plasterwork ornamental

Silk thread on wool felt. Double Pekinese stitch and a little bit of failure

Silk thread on wool felt. Double Pekinese stitch and a little bit of failure

Well hello! If you follow me on Twitter/are friends with me on Facebook, you will know that I was bag making yesterday. Although I did pretty well, the little beggar still isn’t finished so I bring you no news of this. Other than ‘I do not have the hardware and I fear strap making’. Major fail.

As I was trying to think up an alternative post (almost went with ’10 Best Things About Working From Home’ – consider yourselves lucky), the hand embroidery doodling I had been doing sprang to mind. I had bought some beautiful hand dyed silk thread from shunklies and have been putting it into use – testing out on different fabrics and using different stitches.

There is nothing finished or spectacular here, but I am learning all kinds of lovely new stitches which I hope to be able to incorporate into future projects. It’s a great thing to do in the evenings or during the mid-afternoon slump, as one can do it while remaining largely stationary. Allow me to share a couple of essential hand embroidery resources with you.

For clear as clear videos of stitches, I urge you to subscribe to Mary Corbet’s YouTube Channel, Mary Corbet’s Needle ‘n’ Thread. Because sometimes annotated diagrams just aren’t enough. Also, these are so soothing, you could watch them all day. Don’t believe me? Bam.

Thank you Mary Corbet. You saved my village. Full site with much more info can be found here. I’m just a sucker for YouTube.

Another indispensable resource for us ‘low handed’ embroiderers, is Yvette Stanton’s The Left-Handed Embroiderer’s CompanionYvette is an insanely talented, widely published embroiderer and I highly recommend you have a look at her books and /or website, Vetty Creations. Worry not, my right-handed compatriots, there is a right-handed Embroiderer’s Companion too.

Think that’s enough to get you on your way? Are there any sewing resources you couldn’t live without?

3 comments

What are your thoughts?

