Lovely, lovely felt

After honing my hand embroidery skills (post on that here), I thought it might be nice to put them to use. I found my eye was being drawn to stitches worked on felt – there are no threads to count so you can go mad and work to the irregularities and intricacies of the fibres. What bliss! It sort of reminds me of all the happy backing singer type characters in The Little Mermaid. Just me? Yeah.

Lucky for me, my Mum has been making really good felt for a number of years and she very kindly sent me a few pieces to experiment with. They arrived recently (alongside a long awaited and slightly less exciting consignment of zips) and they are just stunning.

Maybe I’ll make some brooches or a teeny tiny purse. Or maybe I’ll just cover them with all sorts of nice stitches. I think the colours and textures are beautifully varied and I can’t wait to get started! After photographing them of course…

What would you use it for?

red stripy

red stripy

green stripy

green stripy

purpley (do like the texture on this one)

purpley (do like the texture on this one)

blue pink and purple. This is my favourite

blue pink and purple. This is my favourite

 

 

What are your thoughts?

