Socks!

For some reason, crochet accessories are really floating my little boat at the moment (this must be a shock to you).  Casting around for the next thing to get my hook into, a few images of crochet socks caught my eye. As a step up from mitts or hats, socks appealed as they are a little more complicated and require careful measuring to make them fit an actual foot.

I started to look for some patterns (preferably free and online) and found this Redheart one. The stitches look lovely on this, and by having a go I also learned to do linked double crochets, which make an excellent reinforced sole. The heel on this pattern got the better of me, causing me to give up before the first sock was complete. The sock was not particularly stretchy either which made it difficult to pull on or off.

After a few more hours of sifting through/rejecting patterns on Ravelry, I bit the bullet and paid REAL MONEY for “Crochet Socks” by Janet Rehfeldt and Mary Jane Wood. This volume contains a number of patterns and a very useful introduction detailing the sock making process. I feel like working through this helped me to understand the fitting and construction of a sock more fully, although I couldn’t have known that for sure until I’d had a go myself.

The patterns in the book are hit and miss, there are a couple which seem very wearable whereas one or two seem a tad far out – individual toe socks I’m looking at you… but for the introduction and basic pattern alone, I am glad to have this book to refer to. I also enjoy having it in a digital format, which gives me an excuse to break up the binge-watching of pretty much anything on Netflix.

And so, using the most basic pattern in the book, I began with some bargain basement, self-striping sock yarn purchased from the “you didn’t know you needed it until now” aisle at Lidl. The perfect practice yarn, so it wouldn’t matter if the result was terribly unwearable.

Where the red heart pattern was a toe up design, this one was started from the cuff – I feel like on the whole it doesn’t matter which end you start from. The leg is easier as it is just an even tube, so maybe that gives one a sense of achievement before the heel is tackled (arguably the trickiest portion).

The majority of the socks are worked using an extended single crochet stitch, which adds a bit of stretch. The heel portion is thicker due to the use of a long split single crochet, which I couldn’t find a tutorial for. It’s basically a split single crochet, worked in the row below. I had problems keeping this consistent.

So these are the finished items, I can confirm that I have now worn and washed them and they still look great – they have kept their shape and are stretchy enough to put on and take off easily. I will be interested to see how they compare to my knitted socks and I can’t wait to make some different styles!

Have you made crochet socks? Do you wear them?

2 comments

What are your thoughts?

